Notification
RRB Station Master Recruitment 2026: 1,265 Vacancies, Eligibility and Apply Online
RRB Station Master Recruitment 2026 has 1,265 vacancies. Check CEN 08/2026, graduate eligibility, application dates and official apply link.
- Published
- Last updated
- Reading time
- 6 min read

Table of contents
Indian Railways has opened applications for Station Master recruitment under Centralised Employment Notice (CEN) No. 08/2026. The Ministry of Railways' Press Information Bureau (PIB) announcement dated 27 October 2026 confirms 1,265 vacancies across Railway Recruitment Boards and zones. Online applications opened on 27 October 2026 and close on 25 November 2026.
The Railway Board has decided that Station Master recruitment will be notified separately from 2026 onwards. Graduate candidates interested in railway operations should read the complete CEN 08/2026 notification before applying. This guide summarises facts confirmed by the official PIB announcement and links to the detailed notice.
RRB Station Master Recruitment 2026: Overview
| Particular | Details |
|---|---|
| Recruiting organisation | Railway Recruitment Boards (RRBs), Ministry of Railways |
| Post | Station Master |
| Notification | CEN No. 08/2026 |
| Total vacancies | 1,265 |
| Qualification headline | Graduate candidates can apply, subject to detailed CEN conditions |
| Application mode | Online |
| Application start | 27 October 2026 |
| Last date | 25 November 2026 |
| Application portal | rrbapply.gov.in |
| RRB website | rrb.indianrailways.gov.in |
Important: The detailed CEN is the controlling document for exact age limits, degree/equivalence rules, fees, reservation, medical standards, selection stages, exam pattern and document requirements. Verify these before applying.
RRB Station Master Vacancy 2026: 1,265 Posts
The PIB release confirms 1,265 vacancies in the RRB-wise distribution under CEN 08/2026. It highlights these three RRBs with the largest vacancy counts:
- RRB Mumbai: 177 vacancies
- RRB Jammu-Srinagar: 122 vacancies
- RRB Chennai: 119 vacancies
For the complete RRB-wise and category-wise distribution, refer to the vacancy annexure in the official CEN PDF. Use the published notification and any official corrigendum if a later correction is issued. Do not rely on social media graphics or unofficial vacancy tables where totals differ.
Important Dates
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Online application begins | 27 October 2026 |
| Online application closes | 25 November 2026 |
| CBT/examination date | Not specified in the cited PIB announcement; check official RRB updates |
Submit the form well before the deadline. Last-minute applications can be affected by portal traffic, payment delays or document-upload problems.
Who Can Apply?
The PIB announcement says graduate candidates can apply. The exact wording of the educational qualification, accepted degree/equivalence conditions and any other requirements must be checked in CEN 08/2026.
Before starting the form, verify:
- Whether your degree and university meet the notification's requirements.
- The prescribed age limit and the date on which age is calculated.
- Applicable age-relaxation rules, if any.
- Whether category or other claims require certificates in a prescribed format.
- Any medical or post-specific conditions stated in the CEN.
Do not assume that every graduation course, provisional result or distance-learning qualification is automatically accepted. Follow the exact notification wording.
How to Apply Online
Applications are to be submitted through the official RRB application portal. Use this preparation checklist and follow the live portal's instructions:
Step 1: Read CEN 08/2026
Open the official RRB website and download the Station Master notification. Read eligibility, vacancy, application, fee, selection and document sections before registering.
Step 2: Open the official application portal
Visit rrbapply.gov.in. Confirm that the recruitment title and CEN number match CEN 08/2026 – Station Master.
Step 3: Complete registration
Create or access your account using the details requested by the portal. Use contact details that you can access.
Step 4: Fill in the form
Enter personal, educational and other requested information exactly as supported by your records. Check spelling, dates and category details carefully.
Step 5: Upload documents
Upload the photograph, signature and certificates requested by the portal. Follow the prescribed format, dimensions and file-size limits displayed in the notification or application interface.
Step 6: Pay the fee
Use the payment method and fee category applicable to you as stated in CEN 08/2026. The PIB release does not list fee amounts, so confirm the exact amount in the official notification and portal. Avoid payment links shared by unknown agents.
Step 7: Review and submit
Preview the complete application. Correct errors before final submission, complete the confirmation process and save the submitted form and payment receipt.
Documents and Information to Keep Ready
The exact upload list is defined by the notification and application portal. Candidates should keep relevant records accessible, such as:
- Class 10 certificate or other date-of-birth proof specified by the CEN.
- Graduation details and supporting marksheets/certificate.
- Valid photo identity document.
- Recent photograph and signature in the required format.
- Category, EWS, disability or other applicable certificates, if claiming a benefit.
- Active mobile number and email address.
- Payment method for the application fee.
This is a preparation checklist, not a substitute for the official document list. Upload only what the portal requests and ensure certificates meet the prescribed validity and format rules.
Selection Process and Exam Pattern
The PIB press release points candidates to the detailed notification for the examination syllabus and application instructions. It does not reproduce the complete selection process or exam pattern. Candidates should use CEN 08/2026 as the authority for:
- Number and sequence of selection stages.
- Whether an aptitude test or other assessment applies.
- Subject-wise syllabus and question distribution.
- Duration, marking scheme and negative marking, if applicable.
- Shortlisting and qualifying requirements.
- Document verification and medical standards.
Avoid preparing from an older Station Master or NTPC exam pattern without checking whether it matches this separate 2026 CEN.
Official Links
- Detailed CEN 08/2026 notification: Download the Station Master PDF
- RRB official website: rrb.indianrailways.gov.in
- Online application portal: rrbapply.gov.in
- PIB announcement, 27 October 2026: Indian Railways to Recruit 1,265 Station Masters Nationwide
If a link does not load, navigate to the official RRB website and locate CEN 08/2026 there rather than using an unknown mirror.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
- Waiting until the final hours to submit the form.
- Relying on a third-party summary instead of reading CEN 08/2026.
- Entering degree or date-of-birth details that do not match supporting records.
- Uploading files that do not meet portal specifications.
- Claiming a category benefit without checking certificate requirements.
- Paying through unofficial links or agents.
- Treating an unannounced exam date as confirmed.
- Failing to save the final application and payment confirmation.
FAQs
The Ministry of Railways' PIB announcement dated 27 October 2026 confirms 1,265 vacancies under CEN 08/2026.
The online application window closes on 25 November 2026, according to the PIB announcement.
The online application process opened on 27 October 2026.
The PIB announcement says graduate candidates can apply. Check CEN 08/2026 for exact accepted qualifications and equivalence conditions.
Use the official RRB application portal: https://www.rrbapply.gov.in/.
Centralised Employment Notice CEN No. 08/2026 for Station Master.
The cited PIB announcement confirms application dates but does not specify a CBT date. Check official RRB notices for the examination schedule.
Use the official CEN PDF linked in the sources section or locate it through the RRB website.
Editorial Note
This article is based on the Ministry of Railways announcement published by PIB on 27 October 2026. The PIB release confirms the post, CEN number, 1,265 vacancies, graduate-level eligibility headline, application opening and closing dates, and selected RRB-wise vacancy counts. Detailed eligibility conditions, fee, age limits, selection stages, medical requirements and exam pattern should be checked directly in the linked CEN 08/2026 notification. Last checked: 28 October 2026.


